Ingmar contemplating his beard

Day 9 – One Week in Berlin and I Didn’t Drink a Single Beer, Am I Doing This Right?

The average foreigner that goes to Amsterdam is not going there for the cheese and similarly, the average foreigner that goes to Berlin is not going there for the Bratwürste. Amsterdam has its weed and coffeeshops and Berlin has its beer and Spätkaufs. After 9 days, however, I somehow have not entered a single Späti yet nor have I consumed any beer. I guess I’m not the average foreigner, then. Vielleicht, aber Bier trinken Sie zusammen! And in the past nine days there was only one person with whom I really wanted to share a beer, but she was restrictedly drinking tea as she wasn’t feeling well. Scheiße.

“Somehow, when you are sleeping with 4 to 6 people in a room, there is always at least one person who snores like an opera singer with a cricket stuck in his throat”

But apart from my boring “beerless” diet I have quite frankly been enjoying myself here. There is nothing quite like being in a new city such as Berlin, while living amidst other travellers and having no obligations other than the very basic ones of eating, drinking and peeing. The only thing that is slowly getting the better of me are the snoring people in my room. Somehow, when you are sleeping with 4 to 6 people in a room, there is always at least one person who snores like an opera singer with a cricket stuck in his throat. If only there were snore-free hostels…

So what have I been doing here? An average day in Berlin goes like this, though the times differ greatly from day to day:

I get up around 7:30 (this happens quite routinely).

Half an hour later I’m eating breakfast in the cafeteria while reading a book. It’s often quite a heavy breakfast, because I sometimes don’t eat anything until 3 pm. I buy my breakfast a day before in the supermarket, as the breakfast in my hostel is more expensive and not to my liking anyway.

After breakfast I try to leave the hostel as soon as possible. The best way to get the mental juices flowing is by physically pumping them around with the aid of some fresh air. To do this I either go for a +- 10K run or I take a long walk. When I’m taking a walk I sometimes like to bring my camera to practise some street photography, but at other times I’ve had enough of street photography and I venture out without my camera. Whenever I go out, though, I try to explore a new part of the city.

Lunch.jpg
half my day on a table

At some point my feet and/or hands start to freeze, as the outside temperature is usually below freezing point, and I seek shelter at a coffee place or I go back to the hostel. Here I start working on my laptop; I edit previously taken photos, create low-level artworks, write on my blog, contact people for a room, and so on. If I am in a coffee place I will most likely stay there for quite a while, but when I’m working in my hostel I become a bit restless of the monotone, unchanging environment and soon need to go for a walk again.

“I should honourably mention the pizzeria around the corner of the Generator hostel as they might serve the fastest pizza on Earth and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing”

 

Then, around 6 or 7 pm I will look for something to eat. I often eat alone as most people in my hostel are still exploring the city, visiting museums and stuff. My dinner is not too healthy, as my budget only allows for the following options: fried noodles or fried rice, kebab, pizza or a burger and fries. Half of the time I’ll eat fried noodles or fried rice at this place, as they include a reasonable amount of vegetables and they are the cheapest of all foods. I should honourably mention the pizzeria around the corner of the Generator hostel as they might serve the fastest pizza on Earth and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing. It took them about five minutes to serve me a calzone after I ordered it! My best guess is that their brick kiln is actually a microwave-oven combination in disguise.

Once back in the hostel I go to my room to see if any of my roommates have returned and depending on who is there I’ll spend the evening with them, or I go downstairs to work some more on my laptop. With the right (or wrong) roommates it’s past midnight before I know it and I’m again late in bed. Scheiße. Na ja, Spaß ist auch etwas wert.

However, tonight I am going to sleep early so I am fresh as a daisy tomorrow for my first day at Fundamental! Ganz geil!

 

Leave a Reply

